To dance is to be out of yourself. Larger, more beautiful, more powerful.
This is power, it is glory on earth and it is yours for the taking.
Agnes De Mille




The river has been the very source of life from time immemorial. From Sufi fakirs in the North to Baul singers in Bengal to Sangam poetry and classical composers in the South – an ocean of poetry has been penned inspired by the river. Nadi seeks to explore the love and longing, the physical changes and the deep philosophy that the river inspired through the centuries-old voices of India’s poets.

Nadi is a selection of poems from six Indian languages - Tamil, Sanskrit, Kannada, Urdu, Hindi and Bengali. The musical expressions vary from a traditional thumri of Varanasi and Rabindranath Tagore’s (1861 – 1941) poetic and musical expression in Bengali that reflect the soulful music of the wandering Bauls of Bengal; from a 200 to 300 year old bandish said to be written by Ustad Taanras Khan as a duaiyan nazm on Hazrat Khizar in Islam to the chaste classical expressions of Dikshitar (1775-1835) and from Sangam poetry (c. 400 BCE to 300 CE ) of the Tamil country to a modern-day Girish Karnad writing in Kannada.

Concept Leela Samson



The Desire to Move

This production showcases India in all its brilliance, versatility, colour, rhythm and grace, while exposing the viewer to the spread of India’s greatest performing arts. In this unique production, Leela Samson brings together pre-eminent dancer-choreographers and their troupes to showcase the richness of India’s dance, martial and percussive arts in a single presentation – Charishnu or ‘the desire to move’.

Aditi Mangaldas (kathak), Aruna Mohanty (odissi), Priti Patel (manipuri and the martial art of thangta), Sadanam Balakrishnan (kathakali and mohiniattam), Imocha Singh (thangta), Mahesh Vinayakram (percussion) and Leela Samson (bharatanatyam) lead their teams, each style in dialogue with the other and all coming together in a spectacular finale.

Concept Leela Samson
Choreography Leela Samson, Aditi Mangaldas, Aruna Mohanty, Priti Patel, Sadanam Balakrishnan, Imocha Singh, Mahesh Vinayakram